During our 10th class we discussed web basics and logos. 

For web basics, we covered everything from text to IP addresses. We also talked about extensions and what they mean. Extensions are things we see at the end of a web address such as .gov, .edu, .org, .com, etc. Each extension means something different and do make a big difference in site credibility. While doing a research paper, I often stray away from using websites that include .com, and am more attracted to sites with web addresses ending in .gov, .edu, and .org. .gov stands for .government agencies, which means its a government organization/site. This website is trustworthy and I can cite it in my paper because of that reason. .edu stands for .educational institution. This means it’s an educational site that I can also use in my papers because it is honest, educational information. .org stands for .organization. If I’m writing a paper on something like Human Trafficking, I’ll focus on getting to nonprofit organization sites to get my information.

We went on to talk about the simple things like web structure and what each piece of a web address means. After that, we took the logo quiz. This quiz was basically something that just proved how important it is to have a unique logo that speaks for your brand itself. Brand logos such as Pepsi, KFC, and Chevrolet don’t need a name or slogan around it because we are able to identify the company based on a single graphic. Color and originality is important when designing a logo and we want to make sure we create something our audience will always remember.

IMG_2975

The photo above was taken by me while working on our final project. This is Louie the Laker, Grand Valley States mascot. Anyone attending this school would be able to identify this mascot and many college students living in Michigan would be able to as well.

The featured image was taken by me as well, and is a photo we will be using on the website of our final project.

